Brief Update

Dear followers,

My internet has been deemed temporarily out of use as the school’s modem is out of money. I have offered to contribute in paying for the modem but the language barrier makes this a difficult message to be communicated. I will be sending a longer and more detailed update within the next week but I thought I would send you a few Georgian colloquialisms that I’ve learned from my host sister.

“This movie is in throat”
When you have seen something over and over again and you know it by heart, you say that this subject/item is in your throat. This can be anything from a movie or book to a person, anything that you’ve experienced continuously until you’re tired and bored of it. In my case, I am tired and bored of the windy weather here in Lemshveniera, this weather is in my throat!

“You are eating my brain”
Contrary to connotations with zombies, you use this phrase when talking to or describing someone who talks too much. If you’re ever feeling fed up with a chatty Cathy, this might be an effective (albeit unsubtle) way to get them to zip their lip!

“Kai gogo khar: Good girl you are!”
I’ve heard this phrase often, especially when I was new in Lemshveniera. It means precisely what it looks like, “You are a good girl”. This can be used with women of all ages from little girls to older women. It’s just a way that Georgians show that they accept you and that they like you. The same could be said with boys by changing “gogo” to “bitchi’ but I’ve more often heard the phrase used with women.

I’ll be sure to share more catchphrases in the future. For now, I’ve decided to start studying and preparing for the GRE. I’m hoping that I can get to the point where this test material will be in my throat!

Nakvamdis!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.